Contentment – An important virtue

Over the week, I had a chat with a friend and from that conversation the word “contentment” popped up. My subconscious mind has been playing with that word ever since – contentment. Now what is contentment?

My old dictionary defines contentment as “a state of being happy in one’s situation, being satisfied.” I know some noses are probably twitching right now and they are thinking “how can I have little and be satisfied?” Okay let me WOW you now.

You see, these wealthy people we see who, from the outward view, seem to have everything; money, respect, connections, and everything else, believe that there is still something missing in their lives. This supports the statement that humans are insatiable, both the young and the old, the poor and the rich. We all want more of everything even when we know we can’t have it all (yeah, including myself).

In this our world, discontentment has bored so deep into our system, and this is a major factor of destruction of the system (relax, I’m not going into politics). But what is the origin of discontentment? Well, I would say it started in the garden of Eden, that very moment when our ancestors desired to have the same wisdom as God – see where it led us today.

Frankly, contentment is actually one of the most difficult virtues to attain, and yet one of the most important virtues that we all need. A contented person is someone who trust in God, who is sincere and pure at heart and can use anything he has for God’s purpose.

Paul enlightened us further saying, “there’s nobody on earth who was, or is naturally born with contentment. We have to LEARN how to.” Truth is, contentment is not easy. You feel satisfied at some point, but later discover that level of satisfaction is no longer enough, so we want more, and then some more (Oliver Twist attitude).

HEY! Good news is that we can attain contentment with God’s Grace alone, the grace which strengthens our hearts.
However, note that contentment and greed are similar to light and darkness respectively -both can’t be present at the same time.

God has taught us that we must be content for happier living and it is explained in the Bible -Phillipians 4:11-13, “Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

An inspiring writer said, “there’s nothing wrong with possessing things, but there’s something wrong if we can’t be content without them.”

May the Lord help us find contentment in Him (Amen)!!!

Much love,
My Loud Thought with Jemima

Twitter: @JemimaTolase
Facebook: My Loud Thought

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

2 thoughts on “Contentment – An important virtue”

  1. God has truly Blessed me with “less”..!! With each material object I lost in life.. God has Graced me with another Blessing. Until Here I am today.. existing with merely the bare necessities of life.. and I am so truly content..!! Praise be to God..!!
    http://mrcatsoe.wordpress.com/2013/10/23/if-you-want-to-make-god-laugh/
    True wealth is not measured but how much one accumulates.. But how little one needs..!!
    “When you realize you have enough.. You are truly rich” ~~ Lao-tzu ~~
    Stay Well.. God Bless… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

