One Love! One Spirit!

Happy new year everyone. I have this strong feeling that this year is full of great achievements and also great events.
Get ready because it is going to be a spectacular year for MLT and its readers. We thank you all very much for your supports last year. We plan to take it a step higher this year. Don’t get left out on this MLT project! Your contributions: stories, suggestions, testimonies etc, can go a long way in saving lives. Please work with us.

So I have been itching to discuss this topic. Thank God the opportunity finally came….

On the second day of the new year, I embarked on a 12-hour journey. To prevent myself from being idle, I carried one of my favourite books with me. I began reading the book because I had nothing else to do. But as I got deeper and deeper into it, I didn’t want any distraction until I had finished reading the book. Unfortunately, I was distracted by some “quiet sobs”, I looked up and saw a lady crying. I guess all other persons were too immersed in their thoughts to notice her.

I asked her what was wrong, she told me amidst tears that she had an interview the previous day, and on getting to the venue she saw some other candidates who came for the same interview as well. She waited patiently until it was her turn to meet the interviewers, she went in, met the panel and this lady answered every question that was thrown at her – impressively. This job was definitely hers for the taking, or so she thought. But when the time came for her to get her result and her supposed letter of appointment, the boss called her privately to tell her that, although, she had passed exceptionally well, she would not be given the job because she was not from the tribe of the chairman of the organisation. That was how this lady lost the job.

I was more than sad by the time the lady was done talking. For a moment, I wished I could give that chairman a piece of my mind. I can’t tell you when this world will be a better place, but what I do know is that the world can not be better unless we eradicate discrimination and uphold justice. Can you imagine how unlucky that lady must have felt? The kind of rejection she had to deal with walking out of the company doors?

When the lady became more calm, she declared that she will succeed in life and when she does she will help as many persons in need as she can.

Friends, I know that there are various other stories of discrimination, but as long as it is not right, I won’t stop taking actions against situations like this. I urge you to do the same. The biblical saying: “Love your neighbour as yourself”, doesn’t tell us to show love to only persons from our household, tribe, kindred, team, country, gender, racial group, our friend or lover.

When we learn to walk in unity, with one love, just as God choose to work with us, then a change is possible. No matter who you are, or where you are from, we are all made by one God who is diverse in His ways. Let us stop discriminating. Remember, change starts from within you!

“I’m Starting With The Man In
The Mirror,
I’m Asking Him To Change
His Ways,
And No Message Could Have
Been Any Clearer,
If You Wanna Make The World
A Better Place,
Take A Look At Yourself And
Then Make A Change”

I guess Michael Jackson’s message through these lyrics of his really couldn’t have been any clearer.

Much love
Jemima

12 thoughts on “One Love! One Spirit!”

  1. True, true and true… Nice of you to give her a listening ear, I want to point out that it wasn’t because you offered a solution to her that her tears subsided, rather it was because someone gave her a listening ear to pour out her hurt. Keep your good works up, Jemima…

    Like

  2. This whole discrimination, tribalism thing is a major stench to our development as people and even as a country…imagine u passing jamb n to be selected for post ume u av to be from some certain ethnic group or from some certain local government…. or to get some job u have to present certificate of state of origin and all….i pray God help us…because rebuking this things are easier said than done….

    Like

  3. I once read about a lady that was sent out by the panel at the last interview because she couldn’t answer the question “Who is your father?” Apparently the job was not meant for those without fathers — powerful, influential and well connected parents.

    Prayers won’t put an end to ethnocentrism, nepotism, ostracism. . . or whatever -cism the discrimination is. The desired change starts with us.

    To those who wield power and position as though they are gods, need they be reminded that they’re just like the fellow they maltreat? What happens when the One who created all — the One with a capital G, as in God — decides to do justice?

    Countless misused privileges! Pity them not when they fall from grace to grass grave.

    Thanks for this piece jemima.

    Like

Leave a Comment

