Act right

After a very hectic day at work, I was finally on my way home. I was so lucky to beat the traffic, but something else kept me on the road for a while. I saw a man run across the road, almost causing an accident. I was shocked to see that this man, despite almost getting himself killed, he didn’t even seem to care. He didn’t stop until he got to the other side of the road where a crowd gathered. Judging from the growing crowd, we knew something ‘serious’ was going on there.

I moved a little closer and saw a woman laid on the floor, she seemed to be having a seizure. People tried different methods in order to revive this woman. Some guys brought out their phones to take photos and record the event, for entertainment & social media purposes. That got me a little puzzled. I quietly asked a young boy if it was a movie shoot. He gave me an irritated glance before saying “no aunt, she was about to cross to the other side when suddenly she fell down and started rolling.” Wow! Here is a woman who is in a critical condition and these people are making a joke out of it by taking pictures and videos of her partially exposed body. I moved closer to render the little help I could.

I can’t explain how bad that incident made me feel. If people can think that the ideal way to help a woman in pain is to take a picture of an exposed part of her body, then we still have a long way to go! I can’t help but imagine how the story of the Samaritan man in the bible would have been if there were camera phones at that time.

A nation without discipline is not a nation likely to grow. Don’t wait to be told to do something right if you know how. It shows people can rely on you in times of distress. Finally, there’s always a good feeling and sense of responsibility after being helpful.

Well, probably there’s someone reading this too, someone who loves to catch fun out of a very bad situation. I would tell you to stop and act right. You could be the next person in need of urgent help.

Much love
Jemima.

One thought on “Act right”

  1. Lol@ video shoot! But on a more serious note, this issue is indeed a serious one…I remember the aeroplane crash incident that happened in Alagbado, people were taken “selfies” @ the scene! For crying out loud! It’s either u run away for fear of further blast or u help out…Ok wat about the Synagogue building that collapsed some months back? OMG you need to see! Some people instead of helping out in any little way they could like lifting up stone trappings and saving lives, they were busy taking pictures as if their lives depended on it and even caused obstructions for the authorities who wanted 2 help. This is so annoying…i dey vex jare!

    Like

Leave a Comment

